»Tea the way we like it.
Welcome to the world of Eilles Tee«

Origin – Tea and the countries where it’s grown

EILLES TEE comes from the best tea plantations in the world. The selection is vast, because tea is cultivated in more than 40 countries.

Many types come from China, while Japan produces primarily green tea. Africa, with its more recent tradition, is famous for Rooibos (red bush) herbal tea.

Northern India is known for the Darjeeling area with 73 plantations at altitudes of up to 2,000 metres, northeastern India for the Assam region and its strong black teas, and southern India for its Nilgiri teas. Sri Lanka, formerly Ceylon, is one of the world’s leading exporters of tea. Many types come from China, while Japan produces primarily green tea. Africa, with its more recent tradition, is famous for Rooibos (red bush) herbal tea.

Origin – How it all started

In 2737 BC, a leaf from a wild tea plant fell into boiling water, and the Chinese emperor Shen Nung discovered the drink. In Europe, the Dutch were using tea for medicinal purposes in the early 17th century. And in the USA, the famous Boston Tea Party in 1773 triggered the War of Independence.

ORIGIN - ORGANIC AND FAIRTRADE

When it comes to purchasing, EILLES TEE attaches great significance to health based on natural nutrition, an authentic taste experience and fair treatment of people and nature. As for how our organic teas are grown, we place a premium on avoiding genetic engineering and chemical or synthetic pesticides and fertilisers. We are equally concerned about the living conditions of plantation workers with respect to their health and income.

»We find the tea you love –
the finest varieties from around the world«

» Harvest – The road from
cultivation to cup«

Two leaves and a bud

The uppermost bud and the next two leaves: a tea plant can be harvested every seven to ten days. In moderate climate zones the plants can be harvested throughout the year, but at altitudes above 500 metres – in Darjeeling, for example – the plants stop growing from November to March.

»It all starts with picking –
Plucking by hand is the key«

Two leaves and a bud

The leaves can only be picked by hand, up to 12 kilos a day in Darjeeling or 25-30 kilos in Assam. But in general, around four kilos of fresh tea leaves yield approximately one kilo of black tea ready for brewing.

»Experience and “good taste” –
Refinement at the source«

Two leaves and a bud

Many factors contribute to the different yields and aromatic nuances, including different climatic conditions, soil conditions, precipitation levels and altitudes, as well as processing methods.

»We are passionate about details – because they make a world of difference in the cup«

PICKING 1. STEAMING 1. WITHERING 2. ROLLING 3. FERMENTING 4. DRYING 5. SORTING GREEN TEA BLACK TEA

Step by step to tea

 

Withering, rolling, fermenting, drying and sorting: these are the five steps needed to process tea in the traditional (orthodox) manner after the picking of two leaves and a bud.


The leaves lose around 30% of their moisture on the withering tables and become soft enough for rolling.

This process disrupts their surfaces, which enables them to ferment. Fermentation refers to the oxidation process by which the tea takes on its reddish brown to black colour within 30 to 120 minutes. For green tea this step is omitted.


The leaves then go to a rack dryer, where their moisture content is further reduced to about 2%. Oscillating sieves sort the tea into four sizes (leaf, broken, fannings and dust), after which it is packaged and ready to drink.

»TO TOP«

»Tee, wie wir ihn mögen.
Willkommen in der Welt von Eilles Tee«

Eine wunderbare Teekunde hat meine ganze Seele eingenommen, gleich den süßen Frühlingsmorgen, die ich mit ganzem Herzen genieße. Ich bin allein und freue mich meines Lebens in dieser Gegend.

Herkunft - Tee und seine Länder

EILLES TEE stammt aus den besten Teegärten der Welt. Die Auswahl ist groß, denn in mehr als 40 Ländern wird Tee geerntet.

Viele Sorten kommen aus China, während Japan vorwiegend Grüntee liefert. Das junge Teeland Afrika ist bekannt für die Kräuterart Rooibos (Rotbusch).

Indien steht im Norden für den Distrikt Darjeeling und dessen 73 Teegärten in bis zu 2000 Metern Höhe, im Nordosten für das Gebiet Assam, das kräftige Schwarztees hervorbringt, und im Süden für die Nilgiri Tees. Als einer der weltgrößten Exporteure gilt Sri Lanka, ehemals Ceylon.

Herkunft - Wie alles begann

Es war 2737 v. Chr., als das Blatt eines wildwachsenden Teestrauchs in kochendes Wasser fiel und der chinesische Kaiser Chen Nung das Getränk entdeckte. In Europa machten Holländer Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts Tee als Medizin bekannt, und in den USA markierte schließlich die berühmte Boston Tea Party von 1773 den Beginn des amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskriegs.

Herkunft - Bio und Fairtrade

Wenn es um den Einkauf geht, sind EILLES TEE diese Faktoren besonders wichtig: Gesundheit durch natürliche Ernährung, Ursprünglichkeit des Geschmackserlebnisses, unbeschwerter Genuss und die faire Behandlung von Mensch und Natur. Wenn es um den Anbau unserer biologischen Tees geht, legen wir großen Wert auf den Verzicht von gentechnisch veränderten Organismen und chemisch-synthetischen Pflanzenschutz- und Düngemitteln. Ebenso wichtig sind uns die Lebensbedingungen der Plantagenmitarbeiter im Hinblick auf deren Gesundheit und Einkommen.

»Wir finden den Tee, den Sie lieben –
weltweit die feinsten Sorten«

»Tee-Ernte: der Weg vom
Strauch in die Tasse«

Two leaves and a bud

Die oberste Knospe und die zwei folgenden Blätter: Alle sieben bis zehn Tage kan ein Teebusch geerntet werden. Während in gemäßigten Klimazonen ganzjährig geerntet werden kann, pausiert in Höhenlagen über 500 Meter – wie zum Beispiel in Darjeeling – das Wachstum von November bis März.

»Alles beginnt mit dem Pflücken -
Handarbeit ist der erste Grundstein«

Two leaves and a bud

Das Pflücken ist echte Handarbeit, je nach Anbaugebiet sind es acht bis zwölf Kilo pro Tag (Darjeeling) oder täglich 25 bis 30 Kilo (Assam). 4 Kilo frisches Blatt ergeben 1 Kilo trinkfertigen Schwarztee.

»Erfahrung und „gutes Näschen“ -
die Veredelung vor Ort«

Two leaves and a bud

Die Ursachen für die unterschiedlichen Erträgen und Geschmacksnuancen sind vielfältig: angefangen von den verschiedenen klimatischen Bedingungen über Bodenbeschaffenheit, Niederschlagsmengen und Höhenlage bis hin zu den Verarbeitungsmethoden.

»WIR LIEBEN DAS DETAIL - WEIL ES SPÄTER IN DER TASSE DEN UNTERSCHIED MACHT«

PFLÜCKEN 1. DÄMPFEN 1. WELKEN 2. ROLLEN 3. FERMENTIEREN 4. TROCKNEN 5. SORTIEREN GRÜNER TEE SCHWARZER TEE

Schritt für Schritt zum Tee

 

Welken, Rollen, Fermentieren, Trocknen und Sortieren: Fünf Arbeitsschritte sind notwendig, um den Tee nach dem Pflücken der obersten Blattknospe und der zwei folgenden jungen Blätter (two leaves and a bud) traditionell (orthodox) zu verarbeiten.


Auf den Welktischen verlieren die Blätter etwa 30% ihrer Feuchtigkeit und werden geschmeidig genug für den Rollvorgang.

Dabei bricht die Oberfläche des Teeblattes, um anschließend fermentieren zu können. Als Fermentation wird der Oxidationsprozess bezeichnet, bei dem der Tee innerhalb von 30 bis 120 Minuten seine rötlich braune bis schwarze Farbe annimmt. Bei Grüntee entfällt dieser Arbeitsschritt.


Es folgt der Weg durch den Etagentrockner, bevor der Tee mit einer Restfeuchte von etwa 2% auf Rüttelsieben erst in vier Blattgrößen (Blatt, Broken, Fannings und Dust) gradiert und dann trinkfertig in Säcke verpackt wird.

MEHR DETAILS: WWW.TEEVERBAND.DE

»AN DEN ANFANG«